Front runners win in June primaries

first_imgHUDSON COUNTY — The only thing surprising about the political primaries on June 6 is that there were no real surprises. Many candidates for Assembly and committee were running unopposed. The candidates who most people saw as the frontrunners in contested primaries — such as the Democratic governor’s race — ran away with an election that saw mostly low turnout statewide.There was, however, significant turnout in some of the key districts.Besides the gubernatorial primary, at stake were state Senate and Assembly seats, all nine freeholder seats, as well as county clerk, with only a handful of these contested.The most watched primary this year was in the 31st District that includes half of Jersey City and all of Bayonne, where incumbent state Senator Sandra Cunningham won the Democratic nomination unopposed with 9,777 votes. She will face off in November against Republican Herminio Mendoza, who won his party’s nomination with 546 votes.Each Assembly district has two seats to fill. In a hotly contested Democratic race in the 31st District, incumbent Democrats Angela McKnight got 7,715 votes and Nicholas Chiaravalloti got 7,371, fending off a challenge by Kristen Zadroga-Hart with 3,451 and Christopher Munoz with 2,605.Republican candidates Michael Alonso won with 502 and Lauren DiGiaro with 473.In the 32nd District that includes North Bergen, West New York, Secaucus, Guttenberg and portions of Bergen County, incumbent Senator Nicholas Sacco won the Democratic nomination unopposed with 9,664. Sacco will face off against Republican candidate Paul Castelli, who won with 821.Incumbent Democratic Assembly members Vincent Prieto got 9,213 votes and Angelica Jimenez had 9,158. They will run in November against Republican candidates Ann M. Corletta with 776 and Bartholomew J. Talamini with 747.In 33rd District that includes all of Union City, half of Jersey City, and all of Hoboken and Weehawken, incumbent Democratic senator Brian Stack won unopposed with 10,393 votes and will be opposed by Republican candidate Beth Hamberger who won with 730.Incumbent Democratic Assembly members Annette Chaparro with 9,137 and Raj Mukherji with 8,988 will run in November against Republican candidates Francisco Aguilar with 709 and Holly Lucyk with 697.E. Junior Maldonado won the Democratic nomination for county clerk and will face off against Blake Lichtenberger who with 1,592 beat Republican challenger Charles M. Shepard with 744.Statewide, for the gubernatorial primaries, Phil Murphy won the Democratic nomination and lieutenant governor Kim Guadagno won for the Republicans. They will face off in November.Freeholders ×Nicholas Chiaravalloti celebrates his Democratic primary victory with supporters in Bayonne. Democratic Bayonne Freeholder Kenneth Kopacz won the nomination for First District Freeholder seat with 3,103 votes. There is no Republican challenger.In District 2 which covers the West Side of Jersey City, Freeholder William O’Dea won unopposed with 3,022. He also faces no Republican challenger.In Freeholder District 3 representing southern Jersey City, Jerry Walker with 3,017 beat challenge Andrew Kemp, 1,234. There is no Republican challenger.In District 4 representing downtown Jersey City, Joel Torres with 3,234 votes beat Imtiaz Syed with 624. There is no Republican candidate.In District 5 representing Hoboken and part of Jersey City Heights, incumbent Democratic Freeholder Anthony Romano with 3,791 votes beat Patricia A. Waiters with 915. In November Romano will face Republican candidate Adela Rohena who won with 330.In District 6 representing Union City, Democratic incumbent Tilo Rivas won nomination with 75 votes. He has no Republican opposition.In District 7 that represented West New York and Weehawken, Democratic incumbent Freeholder Caridad Rodriguez won the nomination with 2,973. There is no Republican candidate.In District 8 which represents North Bergen and a portion of Secaucus, Democratic incumbent Freeholder Anthony P. Vainieri Jr. won with 5,577. He will face no Republican candidate in November.In District 9, which represents a portion of Secaucus and all of Kearny, Harrison and East Newark, incumbent Democratic Freeholder Albert J. Cifelli won with 1,810 votes. There is no Republican candidate.Guttenberg primary for councilIn the primary in Guttenberg, Democrat Wayne D. Zitt, Jr., with 515 votes, won nomination for mayor while Democratic council candidates Monica Fundora with 492, John D. Habermann with 497, and Richard Delafuente with 479 won their nominations for the three-member council. There are no Republican challengers.center_img Nicholas Chiaravalloti celebrates his Democratic primary victory with supporters in Bayonne.last_img

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *